Thursday, 13 December 2012

Stephen Metcalfe MP meets with members of the new Thurrock Clinical Commissioning Group

(LtoR) Accountable Officer - Dr Nimal Raj, Stephen Metcalfe,  
Finance &Technical Chair - Mr S Khan and Chair of the CCG, Mr M Porter

Stephen Metcalfe, MP for South Basildon and East Thurrock, has met with key members of the Thurrock NHS Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) to discuss the future of the delivery of health services in Thurrock.
The CCG is a new organisation set to take over from the Primary Care Trust in the near future. Driven by clinicians and supported by a wide range of professionals, the CCG will play a key role in the commissioning and delivery of the local health agenda with the primary aim of delivering seamless, quality services to the public, patients and carers of Thurrock.
Commenting, Mr Metcalfe said: “The establishment of a CCG in Thurrock is undoubtedly a step in the right direction.  It will put the NHS back in the hands of local practitioners who best know how to meet local needs and improve standards of healthcare in the Thurrock area.”
“I am actively ensuring that I am well informed about this changeover. I am meeting with the people and organisations driving the move and I will continue to work with them to ensure that my constituents receive the best possible health care.”
For more information on Thurrock CCG and participating GP practices please visit: